Love is Contentment

Have you noticed how when someone who loves you is near, you are at peace? There’s no reason to worry because you know that you are safe, and no matter what – you will work things through together. This dynamic is even richer as we dwell with the Lord. Time spent quietly, or in singing, or prayer – results in utter contentment.

“If I ever go looking for my heart’s desire again, I won’t look any further than my own back yard. Because if it isn’t there, I never really lost it to begin with” L. Frank Baum, The Wonderful Wizard of Oz.

Our contentment truly rests upon our choice to love and press into perfect love. Mr. Baum is correct in his assertion that we need not look any farther than where we are. This is not say that living this way is easy, for it’s not. There are those times when we have to discipline our thoughts and make time to be with the only One who can provide the answers we need.

What I love about “happiness being an inside job,” is that I have the power to change my attitude if it is out of alignment with my purpose. As you have probably realized, this is a position of diligence. I need to be aware of my physical, spiritual, and emotional state – I need to check in with myself to see how I’m doing.

  •  Am I feeling agitated, or frustrated?
  • Do I feel out of sync with my schedule, work, family, etc.?
  • Are there unresolved issues?

He will cover you with his feathers under his wings you will find refuge _Image by Sweet to the Soul

These are a few questions that usually reveal what is out of place. I may or may not know the cause of my discontent, but either way, I know the source of serenity. He knows how to direct my path so that if the first place I begin is just regaining my peace, the rest of my concern can be sorted out. This is where I begin to look for His promises and principles to apply to my life. He is only an acknowledgement away. And sometimes as counter-intuitive as it seems on the surface, when I am feeling stuck; I begin rehearsing thanksgiving for what God has done in my life. This is usually enough to get me back on course. A favorite promise of mine is:

“Trust in the Lord with all your heart, and do not lean on your own understanding” Proverbs 3:5 (ESV). I notice that my natural understanding doesn’t account for God’s love, power, and eternal perspective, and without this, I am left in a heap of discontent.

So whatever stands between you and His loving contentment, take action by offering thanks, getting quiet, singing, or beginning your prayer dialogue. Remember God is more concerned with your situation than even you are – for He loves you that much.

What do you do to gain tranquil balance in your life? I’d love to hear from you and agree with you in prayer.

 

From my heart to yours,

Jacquie ♥

4 thoughts on “Love is Contentment

  1. There is nothing like time with my wife to give contentment. Yet the big one for me is to go to work! As I patrol in search of criminals and malfunctions I have the luxury of being alone with Creator, and we have some good times. It is a great blessing for which I am truly grateful.
    Peace

    1. His love truly is “shed abroad in our hearts by the Holy Spirit.” I am thankful this article resonated.

      Blessings,
      Jacquie

Leave a Reply

