What About the Middle?

“In their hearts humans plan their course, but the LORD establishes their steps” Proverbs 16:9 (ESV).

What does your circle of life look like? As I consider this question, more questions come to mind: is there a jam-packed schedule with barely enough room to breathe, or think? Are there lots of people and activities, or maybe the opposite – is there a great deal of wasted time with no real schedule or purpose? Either way, are you feeling fulfilled? Who or what is in the middle of your life circle?

I have spent days where I didn’t feel I had time to spend with the Lord, and hit the ground running. I have also wasted time and gotten little to nothing accomplished, and probably all places in between. I must say that my favorite dwelling place is the middle of my life circle, that place where peace, love, and wisdom reside. But this my friends, is an act of the will. And even though I am grateful that more often than not, my days begin with Lord, I still have times when I allow myself to think “I’m just too busy to spend time with the Lord this morning.”

Daybreak by Jacquie Bradford rr

The Lord has established my steps at a pace I can live with (mostly). Finishing my degree later in life had the added benefit of life experience. However, there were times when the pace of university courses overcharged my heart. After graduation, I had to make my health a priority—the physical and emotional journey of healing my heart felt tyrannical. My blood pressure shot up like a jack-in-the-box, so I did not have the luxury of pondering my course. It took me about a year and a half to recover. I’m still working on my health, but at a much less demanding stride. Would I change any of the timing of this? My mind screams “Of Course!”

The Center

But I do know that God’s timing is perfect, and I may not have come out of this time alive were it not for Him, and an understanding husband and family. “The greatest trust statement of faith is a life well lived. It is faith fleshed out through risks and sacrifices. It is daring to go after a dream that is destined to fail without divine intervention” Batterson, Draw the Circle, p. 50.

Whether you are aiming for your dreams from the beginning, middle, or later years of life, there is nothing more exhilarating than taking that first step. Whether your life’s circle is packed to the brim – or there’s barely enough activity to keep you conscious; submitting your plans for God to establish is a great start.
Acknowledging our need of Him, seeking His wisdom and counsel will keep us in good stead. I pray that we will take the time to seek God daily for all our needs which includes directing us in activities, goals, and appointments. I pray that He will direct our steps, and that all whom we encounter will be touched by His love and presence – and that we will walk in the peace of knowing we walk with Him, or not at all.

From my heart to yours,

Jacquie ♥

Leave a Reply

