What’s Holding You Back?

I am thinking of those déjà vu moments when a situation is inexplicably familiar. Sometimes while in prayer I’ll have a sense of a place or circumstance, which is revealed at a later time. I can’t claim to know what this means other than it feels like a milestone, that I was meant to be in this place or that, with this one or that.

Then there are those times when I realize, “This isn’t déjà vu, I’m going around the same mountain again! In other words, I either did not learn this lesson the first time, or I’m in training so that God can refine my character. In this lesson that stretches over the course of my life, I believe grace is extended to those around me – as I do not seem to walk these teaching moments with the same people over and over again. As I move through the well-worn trails of certain character lessons in my life, I try to remind myself not to give up. Let’s face it, the world cannot offer what the Lord has given. John Piper says it this way, “Our victory is that we treasure Christ in a way that exposes the world as unsatisfying.” So we go through these life lessons because they have eternal purpose.

I know that when I stay connected to God, my life is on course no matter how it seems.

Mount Rainier by Jacob Johnson Photography

I Corinthians 15:57, encourages – “But thanks be to God who gives us the victory through our Lord Jesus Christ” (ESV). Here we see victory assured as we hang close to our source. You probably also noticed that there’s no magic number of times that we stand with the Lord to achieve this wonderful victory. Nope, this my friends is a lifelong process. So don’t become discouraged when something you thought you had mastered, becomes your next lesson to learn. For no matter how much time we need in the growth process of character, He is always patient, loving, and kind.

So let’s stay the course knowing that when we come through our trials and testing, we are more prepared to live not only this life, but the one to come.

From my heart to yours,
Jacquie ♥

Relationships@ Restoration Ranch
Relationships@ Restoration Ranch
4 thoughts on “What’s Holding You Back?

  1. Jacquie! Well done! You clearly remind us that we are always in a process of character refinement–I think to show that we can never be self-sufficient. I love that He requires us to require Him. Closely clinging with you, my friend!

    1. Sherrie, I am finding such release in these temporal situations of life as I remember that He is offering me the opportunity to grow in character! I am blessed to be in community with you sweet friend. xo

  2. You are very gentle with yourself. Sometimes I am less so with myself, thinking that after all these years there some lessons still unlearned, or parts that must be learned to keep the rest of a valuable lesson intact. I’m not after perfection; there’s lots I need to cover yet. It’s those lessons that I thought were learned that rise up again that seem frustrating. But then, how frustrating is it for our Creator…?

    1. So true, this is why it helps me to remember that (if I will let Him), God will use these training moments to grow my character. This releases me from frustration. Then He just loves me through, for which I am grateful.

Leave a Reply

