Thinking – Linking you to Life, Wholeness, and Character.

Where are my thoughts when I assume the worst about someone I care about? Why would I even consider him/her to be plotting against me? What’s thinking got to do with how we see things?

Rick Warren says that “God’s not interested in your comfort; He’s interested in your character.” Rick goes on to explain that of all we acquire in this fleeting moment on earth; character is the only thing we will take into eternity. As I engage Rick’s study, “Transformed,” I encounter what God has to say about the power of our thoughts. An “in-your-face” Scripture to kick things off:

A wise person is hungry for truth, while the fool feeds on trash – Proverbs 15:14 (NLT).

Camp Casey Lighthouse by Angela Bradford rr
Photo: Angela Bradford

• So I ask myself, “What am I spending my time on?”
• “What are the results of my meditations?”
• “Who or what is at the center of my life?”

I find that listening to godly teaching and music – inspires, corrects, and encourages me toward right living, and being rightly related to my Savior. I am once again immersed in 2 Corinthians 10:3-5:

Though we live in the world, we do not wage war as the world does. The weapons we fight with are not the weapons of the world. On the contrary, they have divine power to demolish strongholds. We demolish arguments and every pretension that sets itself up against the knowledge of God, and we take captive every thought to make it obedient to Christ (NIV).

Regardless of where we fit on the mental health scale, there are ways to get the Word into our hearts and minds. I have walked, and currently walk with women battling mental illness in various forms, and I have witnessed miraculous progress as they listen, read, speak, and write God’s Word. I have and still witness the resurrection power of His Word in my life. But like anything, I must apply myself to study – to be dedicated and committed to growth. Romans 12:2 says, “Do not conform any longer to the pattern of this world, but be transformed by the renewing of your mind. Then you will be able to test and approve what God’s will is—His good, pleasing, and perfect will” (NIV).

It’s About Being in Relationship:

• Be kind to yourself. Embracing godly thinking is about your relationship with God, and good health will follow
• We all go about this journey at our own pace
• If you are on medication, don’t stop taking it without your doctor’s consent. Faith is great, but we are also called to walk in wisdom
• Be sure you have others praying for you
• Be in relationship with those who love you, have your best interest at heart, and will be lovingly honest with you
• Be in God’s Word daily, so that your mind is washed and renewed.

The battle for our mind is great – but He is greater!

I pray His love and protection, as well as His wisdom and leading as you pursue transformation by the renewing of your mind.

From my heart to yours,

Jacquie ♥

our-daily-bread.jpg
our-daily-bread.jpg
2 thoughts on “Thinking – Linking you to Life, Wholeness, and Character.

    1. He’s so good to us to equip us with all we will ever have need of. Sherrie, Thank you for being such an encouragement! xo

Leave a Reply

