Have You Ever Wanted to be a Tree?

There are times when life seems to run like clockwork. Think of a really good day or season when you feel God and you are connected at the hip. You hear Him, sense Him, and His leading seems so clear. The universe seems to understand God’s rule, and submits smoothly, easily. At the end of such a day or period, I usually share exuberantly the great joy of the miraculous alignment of God, man, and situation.
A satisfied sigh escapes as I whisper, “Thank you God.”

~ ~ ~ ~ ~

A new season in life can bring me face to face with the same people but something’s happened. We seem to bump against each other like rebellious planets, each on our own course. The universe that was flowing in the grace of God yesterday, is denying His existence today. It’s as if there’s a conspiracy growing up out of the earth saying,
“Don’t get use to harmony.”
Then I wonder what’s going on?

Have I allowed myself to be conformed to this world’s thinking? Have I gone along with advice because it sounded plausible, without checking its source? As obvious as this seems; thoughts, words, and ideas can take root in subtle ways. Is there a magazine I’ve been reading for years that over time has changed in focus, but the transformation so gradual I didn’t avert? Are there people in my life that have unwittingly amended their beliefs and are now walking in a modified way before God? These are some of the things I need to consider. If any of these situations exist, I must repent before my Creator, and get back to His Word. I do know that life is richer when I follow God’s guidelines. What do I do when His Word reveals that I have the opportunity to be a tree?

Photo Credit: hdwallpapers.cat
Photo Credit: hdwallpapers.cat

Not just any tree, but a tree that is planted by refreshing life giving rivers – a tree that flourishes as it bears good fruit, refreshing all in its path. Psalm 1:1-3 explains:

Oh, the joys of those who do not follow evil men’s advice, who do not hang     around with sinners, scoffing at the things of God. But they delight in doing everything God wants them to, and day and night are always meditating on His laws and thinking about ways to follow Him more closely (vv. 1-2).

Ok, so how are we supposed to pull this off?
We are being instructed to do that which is impossible.
Well the good news is that God never directs us without giving us the ability to execute. As I lean in, and consider what it means to “delight in doing everything God wants . . . always meditating on His laws and thinking about ways to follow Him more closely,” I’m overwhelmed; until I remember to ask Him to enable me to do the unattainable.

When I take Him up on His offer to do what is humanly ridiculous then;

(v.3) I’m “like trees along a riverbank bearing luscious fruit each season without fail. [My] leaves shall never wither, and all [I] do shall prosper” (TLB).

May we be willing to remain current with outside influences, and courageous enough to alter or eliminate that which would stand between us and the God who loves us. Remember that life is not cut and dry, but ever moving, ever flowing, and it is up to us to stay close to Him. Let’s be sure to embrace and meditate on His Word; to make Him our first priority even till our last breath.

From my heart to yours,
Jacquie ♥

Photo Credit: slideshare.net
Photo Credit: slideshare.net
2 thoughts on “Have You Ever Wanted to be a Tree?

  1. So rich, Jacquie! This post is heart-prodding for certain! Thank you–I’ve got some inventory to take! xo

    1. Thank you Sherrie! I’m with you, my life feels like an on-going inventory. My hope is that this means we are making progress ♥

Leave a Reply

