Darkness of Soul

Dreary days, dark nights descend
Around me dry bones, invisible tears without end
Realization of this desert place
Kindness, an oasis lost in this race
Nothing seems near in this place called endless
Everything is flat, no form and mindless
Salty sea air is what I need
Sandy shore – bare feet take the lead.

Only alone, there’s no one to call
Forever’s a long time – You won’t let me fall.

Surely goodness and mercy will find me*
Once I surrender, it’s not me – but we
Unless I open myself to You, I will be
Lonely. Lifeless. Lost. Alone. Abominably.

From my heart to yours,
Jacquie ♥

Form: acrostic
Prompt: How I feel in those dry, desert places that come along in life.
*Psalm 23:6.

Leave a Reply

