Living, Eternal Memorials

cc_stpatsquoteI am thankful that our prayers are a memorial before God and that our prayers once offered, become eternal. God has chosen to hold our prayers and answer them in His way and in His time.  Acts 10:4 speaks to this dynamic; Your prayers and gifts to the poor have come up as a memorial offering before God. Even our gifts to the poor are received by our Father as memorials.  How wonderful that God gives us the privilege and opportunity to offer up eternal prayers (prayers with no expiration date) to Him!

I am grateful that we can by faith, offer up memorials for our family, speaking those things “that be not as though they were.”  I love to pray according to Scripture, because God is true to His Word.  A dear late Aunt, who loved the Lord, shared with me about my great grandmother’s faith in our last visit together. I was inspired by the fact that my great grandmother was known as a woman of integrity and prayer. Even in my great grandmother’s workplace, her coworkers knew not to gossip around her. Every so often I have the sense that answers to her prayers over our family are still coming to pass, and it is exhilarating and faith encouraging.  As my husband and I pray for our family to be restored to one another and service to God, I am heartened when I remember the prayers that have preceded us, as they have no expiration date, they live on.

I am encouraged to pray that terminal illness, sickness and disease will be healed, as well as our need to be strong in our faith as we face uncertain times. Fortunately, my husband has a huge role in this.  I married my best friend and the love of my life who remains the most amazing person in my life after over 37 years of marriage.  We pray together for one another and our loved ones, and the unity of our prayer memorials feels rock solid as we come into agreement. Almost daily, we share family, friend, and work needs, and then pray for these concerns. For anyone who thinks that God does not hear your prayers, be encouraged that Acts 10:4 tells us not only does He hear, He counts them as memorials.

Here are some of our memorial offerings: For family and friends suffering with all types of illness, Jeremiah 33:6 says, Behold, I will bring you health and cure, and I will cure you, and will reveal unto you the abundance of peace and truth. For future generations of family we pray, My children are wise so my heart is glad; they are taught of the LORD and great is their peace. Now my children tell their children of Your Word, and their children another generation. This prayer is based on Proverbs 27:11, Isaiah 54:13 and Joel 1:3. And here is one of our prayers for safety that is based on Isaiah 54:14 and II Timothy 1:7; Because we are established on a foundation of righteousness, we are far from oppression and we will not be afraid; we are far from terror which will not come near us. For God has not given us a spirit of fear, but one of power, love, and sound judgment. For us, this is prayer using holy ingredients, because it is the Word of God.  And because of Acts 10:4, we realize that each prayer we pray to Him (formal or informal) is counted as a memorial.

What prayer memorials are you thankful for? Whatever your need right now, whatever the desire of your heart is for the future and future generations, it is all covered by the One who loves us most. Be fortified that no matter what you are facing, the Creator of the universe is listening and ready to receive your memorials because of His immense love for you and those you care about. It is too easy to be swept up in a wave of fear about the future, especially as we observe current events, so it is essential that we look to the One who will never leave us.

One of my favorite prayers in this regard is based in I Chronicles 28:20; I am strong and courageous and I do the work. I am not afraid or discouraged, for the LORD God, my God, is with me. He will not fail or for forsake me. You are never alone, He is always listening. He hears our prayers of desperation, cries for peace and healing, employment, and every possible thing. The great thing is that God wants relationship with us. Thankfully we don’t have to know certain words or ways of speaking, we just need to come to Him as we are, and where we are, as we offer up our memorials to Him.

Leave a Reply

