Knowing the Time: Laughter, Weeping, Dancing and Mourning

fall colors front window reflection

I am compelled to give thanks with a heart of gratitude most of the time, and in this season of Thanksgiving, I sense my gratitude growing undeniably. We have so much to be thankful for, and yet if we do not keep a running awareness of our blessings, we forget what we have. I am more emotional this year than in times past, this is my reality. I am looking at my emotional state as a vehicle to express more gratitude to my Heavenly Father, and as I direct my emotions toward gratitude, I receive His peace.

            And let the peace of Christ rule in your hearts, to which indeed you were called in one body. And be thankful. Let the word of Christ dwell in you richly, teaching and admonishing one another in all wisdom, singing psalms and hymns and spiritual songs, with thankfulness in your hearts to God. And whatever you do, in word or deed, do everything in the name of the Lord Jesus, giving thanks to God the Father through him. Colossians 3:15-17.

I love being with loved ones and celebrating who they are, and yet there are times when we are called to mourn with them instead. This Thanksgiving is just such a time as my brother grieves and misses his wife. These will be his first holidays without her and he is hurting. He is choosing not to be with the family as he needs space to remember his late wife. Therefore, those of us who love him journey with him, which means we need to know what time it is. Ecclesiastes 3:4 instructs us in understanding the time.  There is “a time to weep and a time to laugh, a time to mourn, and a time to dance.” Maybe you have loved ones, or you yourself are dealing with loss as we come upon this holiday season. So my prayer is that like my brother, you will do what is necessary for you to walk through this time. May your loved ones be gracious and give you space, if that is what you need, or surround you with open hearts and listening ears if that is what you need.

Please know that God loves you and understands your pain, He says, fear not, for I am with you; be not dismayed, for I am your God; I will strengthen you, I will help you, I will uphold you with my righteous right hand – Isaiah 41:10. Dear one, I pray that you will let Him be your safety net and strength.

2 thoughts on “Knowing the Time: Laughter, Weeping, Dancing and Mourning

  1. A wonderful full of wisdom and a very encouraging and uplifting message, Thank you Jacquie.

    As I read your message doing my Devotions this morning, I was blessed, God spoke to my heart, my concern for a young man I Blog with having just lost his dad, is foremost in my mind right now. I feel that he may need space but also to know others care and we cannot show that too much, so I asked what would Jesus do and than remembered, He cried with Martha and Mary even knowing that Lazarus would be alive and with them again within a short time, He shared their grief.

    Galatians 6:2 Bear ye one another’s burdens, and so fulfil the law of Christ.

    Romans 12:15 Rejoice with them that do rejoice, and weep with them that weep.

    2 Corinthians 1:3-5 Blessed be God, even the Father of our Lord Jesus Christ, the Father of mercies, and the God of all comfort; Who comforteth us in all our tribulation, that we may be able to comfort them which are in any trouble, by the comfort wherewith we ourselves are comforted of God. For as the sufferings of Christ abound in us, so our consolation also aboundeth by Christ.

    Matthew 11:28 – 30 Come unto me, all ye that labour and are heavy laden, and I will give you rest. Take my yoke upon you, and learn of me; for I am meek and lowly in heart: and ye shall find rest unto your souls. For my yoke is easy, and my burden is light.

    Thank you again Jacquie and may you be greatly blessed as you reach out to others with the Love and Compassion that God has put it in your heart and may it overflow and splash and drench others as you give and share of it, so they will know just how much they are Loved by our Awesome God of Love.

    Blessings for your Thanksgiving – Christian Love from both of us – Anne.

    1. Dear Anne, I am sorry for this young man’s loss and pray comfort for him and his family. Thankfully our Savior was a “man sorrow and acquainted with grief” Who is moved by our loss. II Corinthians 1:3-5, is a go-to Scripture for me as well; God has truly blessed us with great wisdom and comfort as we walk through loss and sorrow personally and with others. As you said, just knowing that you are there and are praying and sharing this young man’s burden of grief and loss will be a comfort for him.

      Bless you as you minister grace, comfort and love,
      Jacquie

Leave a Reply

