I Will Know When I Get There

Fall Color Peaceful Trees Source Unknown(Image Source Unknown)

I am grateful for the direction the Lord provides, and thankful for the times I followed the Holy Spirit’s promptings. Of course there would be nothing to listen to if the voice I am leaning into does not have credibility and soundness. As we consider “The LORD Our Rock,” we realize that this description of God is comforting. Psalm 125:1-2 discusses a benefit of trusting in our rock; “Those who trust in the LORD are like Mount Zion, which cannot be shaken but endures forever. As the mountains surround Jerusalem, so the LORD surrounds His people both now and forever more” (NIV).

I am thankful that we can trust Him and in so doing we are made strong and a people of perseverance. In addition, we know that based on this Word He will encircle us with His protection. This is such good news! I would be remiss at this point if I did not include the encouragement contained in Psalm 34: 1-9 (HCSB):

I will praise the Lord at all times; His praise will always be on my lips. 2 I will boast in the Lord; the humble will hear and be glad. 3 Proclaim Yahweh’s greatness with me; let us exalt His name together. 4 I sought the Lord, and He answered me and delivered me from all my fears. 5 Those who look to Him are radiant with joy; their faces will never be ashamed. 6 This poor man cried, and the Lord heard him and saved him from all his troubles. 7 The Angel of the Lord encamps around those who fear Him, and rescues them. 8 Taste and see that the Lord is good. How happy is the man who takes refuge in Him! 9 You who are His holy ones, fear Yahweh, for those who fear Him lack nothing.

I am encouraged by these two scriptures to trust, rely, fear, and rejoice in Him who provides all that we have need of, and instructs us in the way of His access. This is especially good news when we consider that the walk of faith dictates that we are on an “as need to know” basis. And because we know that we are not going to be given His entire plan and the understanding of how He is going to answer our prayers, it is completely logical that we would want to press into His still small voice, or in whatever venue He chooses to communicate His plan. Are you engaged in a plan with the Lord and feeling displaced, like you do not know what to do next? Is there a question about whether you are even on the right path? Do your relationships seem disjointed? Well if you answered “yes” to any of the above, I have some more good news!

I am happy to announce to you that all you need to do is seek Him and His counsel for your situation. And yes I say this knowing that some of you have been doing this and are feeling like you have hit a “brick wall.” The truth of the matter is that no matter what it feels like in the seeking process, we are assured that He is with us and for us, Romans 8:31. When I am feeling stuck in my life, I just stop. I stop whatever it is that I am doing, and check-in with my Creator, as I know He has the instruction, course correction, evaluation, information, and the life-giving direction that I need.

I am grateful for the Holy Spirit’s guidance in my life but honestly, I still have times when the reality of “I will know when I get there,” way of doing things challenges me greatly. However, as descendants of Abraham, we embrace God’s pattern of faith; “He [Abraham] did not know where he was going” Hebrews 11:8. God is our source; “yet for us there is one God, the Father. All things are from Him, and we exist for Him. And there is one Lord, Jesus Christ. All things are through Him, and we exist through Him” I Corinthians 8:6. And “my soul finds rest in God alone; my salvation comes from Him. He alone is my rock and my salvation; He is my fortress, I will never be shaken” Psalm 95:1; this is extremely good news!

Prayer

Father, I thank you for being a solid foundation for me to build my life upon. I thank you for being the cornerstone, so strong that nothing and no one can defeat you. Thank you for your love, care, protection, provision and direction. Amen.

2 thoughts on “I Will Know When I Get There

  1. Thank you Jacquie your messages are powerful with much Truth and Love, we are indeed the Children of the Promise, Spiritual Israelites born of the heart not the flesh and Loved greatly by our Abba Father, and as you shared we Love, Worship and Respect Him from our heart not our head which is shown in our words and actions and He is always with us in the good and bad times.

    Isaiah 43:1-3 – Do not be afraid, for I have ransomed you. I have called you by name; you are mine. When you go through deep waters and great trouble, I will be with you. When you go through rivers of difficulty, you will not drown! When you walk through the fire of oppression, you will not be burned up; the flames will not consume you. For I am the LORD, your God, the Holy One of Israel, your Saviour.”

    We all go through times of hard testing I have this week but it is not God who causes us to suffer although He is always with us, Jesus tells us we will have trouble in this life but as we seek Him we will know His inner Joy, Peace and Rest.

    Lamentations 3: 33 For He doth not afflict willingly nor grieve the children of men.

    “Come to me all you who are weary and burdened, and I will give you rest as you walk in me. Take my yoke upon you and learn from me, for I am gentle and humble in heart, and you will find rest for your souls. For my yoke is easy and my burden is light.” ( Mathew 11:28-30 )

    Christian Love from both of us – Anne

    1. Yes, this is the encouragement that we walk in isn’t it? That in this life there will be troubles, but we have the One who knows us best and most to guide, direct, provide, and deliver, while He heaps His love and grace upon us. His Word is our lamp and mainstay, thank you Anne for the Scriptures you shared.

      Blessings,
      Jacquie

Leave a Reply

