We Are Standing But Are We Asking?

Fall Color Majestic Tree Source Unknown (Image source unknown)

I am immeasurably grateful to God because He promises that when we seek Him and His Word, we will find Him; we have this relationship with God our Father who happens to be the King of the universe, and honor and respect are due Him.  It only makes sense then that beyond our adoration, praise and thanksgiving that we would ask Him for what we need.  He tells us He knows what we need, but He wants us to ask Him just the same.  What He wants is for us not to be anxious but to ask Him for everything we need (Philippians 4:6). How gracious, kind, and loving is that?

You know those moments when you are moving along in life and everything seems to be as it should? But then there is that pause when you think to yourself, “I am doing the right things and I am praying for what I need, so what’s missing?” While reading Draw the Circle: The 40 Day Prayer Challenge (2012), I was brought to tears as I read a request to God by a young woman who wrote: “Dare I ask for my dreams? Dare I see the imagination of the soul? Dare I risk? What if I ask and receive? So then, I risk. I ask of my King, ‘may I impact others with  . . . ?’” (Batterson, p. 39).  Why was I so moved? I love to pray and stand on the promises of God; there is great joy and fulfillment in trusting Him and knowing that standing on His Word causes faith to increase.

I am grateful that God encourages us to ask Him for what we need. And yet there I was standing on His promise but I was not making my request. The tears of revelation and repentance began to flow with the realization that there was plenty of evidence before God for the requests, just no request. Matthew 7:7-8 instructs us:

Ask and it will be given to you; seek, and you will find; knock, and it will be opened to you. For everyone who asks receives, and he who seeks finds, and to him who knocks it will be opened.

I am grateful that I serve a God who is loving, kind, just and so much more so that there is no need to stand on formality. But loving God with our whole heart, soul, mind, and strength should include honoring His instructions to us His beloved children.  So now we ask, and then we stand, and then we give thanks to Him whose love endures forever Psalm 136: 1-9:

Give thanks to the Lord, for he is good.
His love endures forever.
Give thanks to the God of gods.
His love endures forever.
Give thanks to the Lord of lords:
His love endures forever.

                  4 to him who alone does great wonders,
His love endures forever.
who by his understanding made the heavens,
His love endures forever.
who spread out the earth upon the waters,
His love endures forever.
who made the great lights—
His love endures forever.
the sun to govern the day,
His love endures forever.
the moon and stars to govern the night;
His love endures forever.

 

Leave a Reply

