Pursuing Restoration in Prayer

Mom and Son by Dorothy Greco

Photo by Dorothy Greco

Restoration is usually painful, but with amazing results. When we think about restored marriages and relationships with family and friends, our heart either leaps with gratitude at what God has done, or it sinks at the recognition that restoration is needed. We serve a gracious, compassionate God. In Zechariah 10, the title of this portion of Scripture is “The Lord Will Restore His People.” The sixth verse tells us, “. . . I will restore them because of my compassion . . . for I am the Lord their God, who will hear their cries.” This is the compassionate heart of the One we serve.

If you need relationship restoration with God or someone else, cry out to the One who can restore what has been devastated, or hurt.  We suffer when there are issues in our relationships but I Peter 5:10 tells us; “In His kindness God called you to share in His eternal glory by means of Christ Jesus.  So after you have suffered a little while, He will restore, support, and strengthen you, and He will place you on a firm foundation.” God’s Word promises to be “a lamp to our feet and a light to our path” (Psalm 119:105), which illuminates His heart for restoration.  Praying His Word, His great promises, has restored relationships with family and friends and has brought physical and emotional healing as well as seeing my brother give his heart to the Lord just six months before his wife died.

Sometimes we wonder at God’s miraculous interventions in our life, while other times they escape our notice; the difference? Well it seems to come down to our focus.  There is a life principle that says “Begin each day with meditation on Jesus, or don’t do anything else.” If we do not begin our day spending time with the One who makes life possible, we may leave ourselves open to missed opportunities for restoration and the vision necessary to be grateful and aware of the miraculous that is all around.

 

9 thoughts on “Pursuing Restoration in Prayer

    1. Shan,
      Thank you for reblogging “Pursuing Restoration in Prayer,” I pray that your ministry continues to flourish and leaves His fragrant mark on all who read its contents.

      Counting it All joy,
      Jacquie

  1. One of the things I so love about the word restoration is that when the Lord restores us it’s as though nothing never happen to us. He brings it back to being brand new…AMEN

    1. Thank you Desiray, I also thank God that restoration offers us the gift of becoming more like Him than we were before the restoration. Thank you for your gracious words.

  2. The blogging world boggles my mind! Your recent visit alerted me to your existence, and I have taken time to read some of your blog. I like its simplicity that leads so deeply into such vital issues. Living under Jesus, as consciously as humanly possible, (meditation is certainly part of that) transforms breathing into breathless awe! I’m glad to meet you.
    Peace

    1. Thank you for your kind words, I am always encouraged to read posts by those who love the Lord and trust in Him recognizing this is about our relationship and communion with Him. It is good to meet you as well.

      Counting it All joy,
      Jacquie

  3. Restoration is, indeed, a painful process. The beauty of this pain, though, is that it is the last time we will experience pain in the area that’s been healed. My pastor’s wife uses a variation of “Theophostics,” and through prayer and interaction with the Lord I have been healed of many painful issues including physical/sexual/mental abuse, rape, and a host of other things. I can’t believe the difference in who I am and who I used to be. It’s been nothing short of miraculous.

    Thank you so much for your work here. I’m following you so I can find your blog again. There are many articles I look forward to reading.

    May the Lord richly bless your ministry and use you mightily to reach those who are hurt and hopeless; granting you a great harvest for your service in His name. 🙂

    In Christ,
    Tami
    \o/
    Praise Jesus!

    1. Tami, I rejoice with you in your healing! I just spent a little time reading about Theophostic prayer, and it looks like a great healing tool. I would love to hear more about your experience with Theophostics at my personal address: jbrestoration.ranch@gmail.com. Thank you for following Restoration Ranch, and for your blessing on our ministry, which we gratefully receive. May His abundant blessing of joy and creativity encompass you as you write and sing for His glory.

      Counting it All joy,
      Jacquie

Leave a Reply

